Is there anything better than home-made soup?

I don’t think there is.

I’ve been making this soup for years.  There’s really no recipe for this soup.  I call it Chunky Chicken & Vegetable Soup.  It’s based on a soup my grandma made when I was a little kid.  I used to love the smell of the soup when I visted my grandparents.

Years later I asked my Mum if she knew the recipe.  She didn’t but told me some of the vegies that were included.  I then went and bought them and made the soup.  My house smelt as beautiful as my grandparents house used to smell.  Now it’s a regular addition to my winter menu.  Here’s my recipe (I never weigh the vegetables so they vary each time, often depending on the size of the vegetable):

Chicken breast (cut into strips)

pearly barley (approx 1/4 cup)                              1 cup chicken or vegetable stock

celery                                                                 potato

swede                                                                 turnip

parsnip                                                                onion

carrot                                                                  

Using either a large saucepan, stockpot or slow cooker, bring 2 litres of water to the boil.  Add pearl barley.  Chop the chicken and all the vegies and add them to the pot.  Add more water to cover the ingredients.  Add salt, pepper and mixed herbs (I use dried) to taste.  Bring to the boil then turn the heat down to a simmer.  Cover for 1 hr.  Add more water if it has dropped below the level of the vegies.  Cook for a further 30-60 mins.  Ensure that the vegies are always covered by water.ImageImage

Leave a Reply

