Gold Coast – Mt Tamborine

On a beautiful, sunny and warm Sunday morning, Carol, Bec, Brad and I drove to Mt Tamborine.  Mt Tamborine is in the hinterland of the Gold Coast, just 30 mins drive from Surfers Paradise.  When flying into the Gold Coast, we flew over the mountain.  It looked lush and green and I was looking forward to visiting an area of Australia I hadn’t seen before.

I was assured the roads aren’t too windy.  We had all been in New Zealand and experienced many long and windy roads on a 48-seater coach and I had avoided such roads since coming home.

I wanted to go and visit Wayne Clements’ art gallery in Eagle Heights.  http://www.wayneclements.com.au/  Wayne is an artist that paints with larger brushes than most artists.  My Dad watches his show on community tv every week.  Sometimes I get to watch him too and the paintings he produces are amazing considering the large brushes he uses.  He paints portraits and a lot of landscapes.

Carol thought his gallery might have been on Long Road, cleverly named Gallery Walk, a picturesque, tree-lined street in Eagle Heights.  http://www.discovertamborine.com.au/index.php/gallery-walk-east/.  There are over 70 shops, cafes and art galleries along the street.  Along with the usual craft shops there are two fudge shops.  I bought my fudge (one was Kahlua and the other one was Cookies and Cream) from the first one but I can’t remember what the shop was called.  The second one is called Fudge Heaven http://www.fudgeheaven.com.au/.  Although I didn’t buy anything from there I tried some of the ‘adults only’ fudges as well as the Lemon Meringue fudge. That’s currently my favourite flavour.

I wanted to have Devonshire Tea for brunch so we went to Gallery Cafe.  The cafe is set back on the property with outdoor seating at the front and side.  There are lots of trees surrounding the cafe.  They also have a function room where they host a lot of weddings.  It was still a little chilly on the mountain so we sat inside.  The service and the food were really nice.  Bec’s plate had a Have a nice day written with chocolate sauce.  It was a really nice touch.

Leave a Reply

