New Zealand day 3: Staying at Fox Glacier

fox glacier

We arrived at our hotel at around 5.30pm.  It had been a long day, particularly as I haven’t done a tour of this type since I was at school.   As was to happen at all of our acommodation on the tour, the manager or receptionist came onto the coach to give us our room keys.  That saved us all from having to queue up at reception.  I also realised our bags would be taken to, and picked up from, our rooms each night and morning.   I had never had that happen before and it was something I was going to enjoy.

My room was the size of a shoebox and tucked away in a maze of rooms.  It was clean and tidy though and had a spectacular view of the nearby mountains.

Soon after my bags arrived I went down to dinner in the hotel restaurant.  We were able to choose from a limited three course menu.  As it was the second night in a row we’d been offered this I thought it be normal.  Sadly it wasn’t to be.

Salmon entree

triple choc cake for dessert

Leave a Reply

