New Zealand….day 4 arriving in Queenstown

After travelling for around 200kms in 8 hours we finally arrived in Queenstown and went straight to our hotel.   I fell in love with Queenstown the moment we drove in to the town.  The streets have a great feeling.  I don’t know if it was the shops, cafes or the views.  Actually it was probably the views.  There are gigantic mountains surrounding the town that is built on the banks of Lake Wakatipu.  When driving up Stanley St we were heading straight for Bob’s Peak.  Sitting atop Bob’s Peak is the Skyline Restaurant where we would be going for dinner tomorrow night.

We drove through the town and up the steep hill where the views became even more spectacular.  Our hotel was the Mercure Queenstown Resort.  By this time it was around 6.30pm.  We checked in and went to our rooms.  I opened my room and thought WOW, the room was large and spacious.  I was so glad I was staying here for two nights.  When I put my cases down I went to the window and  had another WOW moment.  The view over Lake Wakitpu to The Remarkables was amazing.  The sun was setting across the top of the mountains and the colours were magnificent.

Carol, Bec, Brad and I met for dinner.  Once again we were overlooking Lake Wakatipu.  It seems that you get the most amazing view from most rooms, bars and restaurants in the hotel.  After that I went to my room and relaxed and watched tv.  It was hard to believe this was only the second day of the tour.  We had travelled so far and seen so much.

2 thoughts on “New Zealand….day 4 arriving in Queenstown

  1. A must do in QT is to visit Vudu Café and Larder on Rees Street where they serve the best coffee in town, and they do some amazing sweets as well. A busy place with a good vibe!

Leave a Reply

