New Zealand….day 7 – Dunedin

Each night Clarke (our tour director) would put up a notice for us to see what was happening the next day, what time we would receive our wake up call, what time we had to go to the restaurant for breakfast and what time we were leaving.  This notice was one of the more involved because the next morning most of us would be going to Larnach Castle but those who weren’t had free time but they were under strict instructions to meet outside the cathedral at the appointed time.

Dinner that night was certainly looked forward to.  By the time we arrived at the hotel it was nearly 7.30pm and we had been on the move since early that morning.  We also hadn’t eaten any lunch.  Carol and I decided we would go straight to the restaurant rather than our rooms so we joined the others.  We were getting extremely sick of buffets, particularly breakfasts) so it was a pleasant surprise to find some interesting foods such as fish, seafood and a curry.

After dinner I went to the bar because I’d spotted some internet computers in a corner.  I hadn’t really thought about it but it was a Saturday and my family back in Melbourne were going to the A-League soccer.  It was the first time my Dad was going but the rest of my family and I are mad Melbourne Victory fans and members.  After checking Facebook and catching up with a few friends via chat I joined some of the others in the bar.  We had a few drinks and lots of laughs before I went up to my room.  I got a strange sense of deja vu.  The room was exactly the same as last night.  It was then that I realised it was the same hotel chain (Kingsgate) that we had stayed in at Te Anau.  I was excited to realise the Melbourne Victory game was on tv so I watched that. Unfortunately I fell asleep near the end of the game so I had to find out result the next day.

Leave a Reply

