Baking our Christmas cake

Years ago my Mum and I used to make our Christmas cake every year.  I’ve never been a fan of some that are sold in the supermarkets.  They are ok but when you’ve made your own you realise it’s often better.  Then we switched to regular puddings before making gluten free ones so my sister in law could enjoy them too.  Our whole family loves the GF ones because they are so much lighterr.  Which means you can eat more doesn’t it? haha   This year I felt like making the cake again so Mum dug out the old recipe.

The recipe is a simple one and one that doesn’t take too long to make.  The time is mostly in the cooking (3-3.5 hrs).

First of all I soaked 1 kg of mixed fruit in sherry for 36 hours (minimum 24 hrs).

Beat the butter and sugar together until light and creamy.  Taste testing this is the best part of making the cake.  Yum lol

Sift the flour and spices together.

Mix in the lightly beaten eggs.

Mix in the flour then the fruit with a wooden spoon.

Line the sides and base of the cake tin so the cake can be easily removed when cooked.

We don’t put almond icing on our cakes (because I don’t like it and it’s less fussy) so I lay some blanched almonds on top before cooking for 3-3.5 hours.  I test it after 3 hrs and then if it’s still moist in the middle put it on for another half an hour.  If it’s still not quite ready after 3.5 hrs I switch the oven off and let it cook wth the remaining heat.

Once it cools down you have to paint it with sherry then wrap it in foil and a cloth for a week before painting it with more sherry.  It’s best stored for a month before eating to let the flavours develop.  It smells beautiful and I’m glad that it’s at my Mum and Dad’s house because I would be tempted to eat it before the month elapses.  I know my Dad would love to eat it now.

2 thoughts on “Baking our Christmas cake

  1. I make both my cake and puddings gluten free and they are so much nicer. Love the old tried and true recipes handed down through the generations.

Leave a Reply

