Yum Cha at Red Door, Windsor

Red Door is just off Chapel St in Windsor and is typically Chapel Street;quirky and slightly eccentric. The owners have combined an antique shop with yum cha to provide a yum cha experience like I’ve never experienced before.  They advertise that their dumplings are made by a Guangdong yum cha master.

To begin with they don’t do the traditional cart yum cha.  They have a menu which is divided into price points which was great because we knew straight away how much each dish would cost.  One of the most annoying things for me with most other yum cha restaurants is that you don’t know how much each section on the docket costs.  That has lead to some expensive bills at the end of the meal which can sour your experience.  You are also surrounded by antique Chinese furniture from the Ming and Qing dynasties.  That creates a really friendly, cosy atmosphere.  It was like dining in someone’s house.

And of course, being so close to Chapel St, who can resist a bit of retail therapy afterwards?

These chicken patties were strange and didn’t really fit in with the menu.  I don’t like chicken mince so I don’t even know why I tried them.

and last but not least – the Chinese (jasmine) tea served in these cute little cups.  I love this tea and although I do drink it at home sometimes, it’s one of the things I look forward to when eating at yum cha restaurants.  I drink a whole pot myself.

Leave a Reply

