Weekly Photo Challenge: my 2012 in pictures

This weeks challenge is a little tricky for me. It sounds so simple. Share your year in photos. It was suggested we include one photo per month but after going through the 8,000 or so photos I took last year I narrowed it down to 43 photos. That was my first achievement. The bigger challenge is to try and reduce it to a number closer to twelve.

The reason it is so hard is that 2012 has been a brilliant year for me. It started with my spending the first three weeks in New Zealand. I did a coach tour of much of the South Island before my parents came over to join me. We travelled together around the rest of the South Island before catching the Interislander ferry to Wellington and flying home from there.

????????
Near Haast. Such a beautiful, peaceful spot to stop and stretch our legs.

????????
View from the Skyline Restaurant in Queenstown

????????
Mirror Lakes

????????
Larnach Castle, NZs only castle

????????
Despite it being eleven months since the Feb 2011 earthquake, there was still so much apparent damage and destruction. When I was there I read that only approx one third of buildings that had to be demolished had been.

????????
NZ fur seal lazing away the day in Kaikoura

????????
Extremely fresh Crayfish at Nin’s Bin, just north of Kaikoura

????????
Picton, the closest I’ve been to paradise. It is such a gorgeous part of NZ, right in the Marlborough Sounds.

????????
Omaka Aviation Heritage Centre

????????
Iconic view of Wellington

I’ve eaten some beautiful food in beautiful restaurants with often picturesque views

???

???

???

???

???

???

???

Tried some new recipes

???

014

Attended many sport events such as cricket, footy and soccer

???

???

????????

The most exciting thing is that my team, Sydney Swans, won the 2012 AFL Premiership

???

2 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: my 2012 in pictures

  1. Looks like a great year! I know what you mean about narrowing down the shots! I had to break my post in half as I just couldn’t do it! Happy New Year and happy travels in 2013.

Leave a Reply

