Honey chicken with spring onions

008

Earlier in the week I had one of those dilemmas where I didn’t have much in my fridge or freezer so wasn’t sure what to cook. I found a few things and knew I had some chicken fillets so I googled the following ingredients: chicken, spring onions and capsicum. This is one of the reasons I love the internet. If you’re ever stuck for ideas, just google the ingredients. I now had so many choices. I settled on a stirfry called Honey Chicken with spring onions. What intrigued me was that the sauce contained Vegemite. I’ve probably turned off half of you now but I’ve never cooked with Vegemite so I thought I’d give it a go.

Ingredients:

2 tsp oil
500g skinless chicken fillet, thinly sliced
2 cloves garlic (I used it from a jar)
2 tsp fresh ginger (I used it from a jar)
1 capsicum (I used red)
3 spring onions, chopped into 3cm lengths
1/2 cup water
1 tbs honey
3 tsp vegemite
2 tsp cornflour
1 cup bean sprouts (which I didn’t have)
rice noodles to serve (I served on a bed of rice)

Method: (so simple)

Heat oil in a frying pan or wok, add chicken, garlic, ginger and stir fry until browned.
Add capsicum and spring onions and fry for 2 mins.
Stir in combined water, honey, vegemite and cornflour and stir until the sauce has thickened. (You would also add the bean sprouts if you had them). Serve with the rice noodles.

It’s that simple!

Now for my confession. I added some salt-reduced soy sauce to the sauce because I felt it needed some extra taste. I then had a very yummy sauce. I will make this again because it is so simple to make and is a good way of using up vegies. You could also add other vegies if you wanted to.

010

Leave a Reply

