Sydney Opera House

????????

Once I made my way to Circular Quay I spotted the Hop-on, Hop-off bus. I had just enough time to grab a bite to eat at a nearby cafe then jumped on the bus. I love these buses because they allow you to get off at a particular destination and get back on when you are ready to move to the next stop. In Sydney they have a Sydney CBD and Darling Harbour bus as well as the Bondi bus. That one starts at Circular Quay and takes you to the eastern suburbs and Bondi Beach. They have also recently added a Hop-on, Hop-Off ferry cruise service taking you from Circular Quay to Parramatta and Manly amongst other places. I can’t wait to go back to Sydney to try that one out. I’ve been to all the places it stops at but never on this type of service.

????????

The Opera House was the first place I wanted to visit. I’ve been here so many times in the past but I still love coming here. I’ve never been inside though. I’d like to join an organised tour one day. I wandered around taking these photos before heading down to the lower concourse and the Opera Kitchen. This popular, open-air cafe area is home to a number of cafes that sell sashimi, sushi, Vietnamese and seafood. It’s the perfect spot to sit and watch the passing traffic on the harbour on a warm day.

????????

????????

????????

2 thoughts on “Sydney Opera House

  1. Nice shots of the house. Apparently it was supposed to have amazing acoustics designed by the first architect, but he died before the house was finished, and now it just looks super cool from the outside. Nice post!

    • I’ve heard there are a few things that weren’t as Utzon designed. He didn’t die before it was finished but he did leave before it was finished. It would probably have been more magnificent if he’d been able to complete it.

Leave a Reply

