Cape Schank Lighthouse

DSC_0981

Cape Schank is at the southernmost point of the Mornington Peninsula in Victoria. It overlooks Bass Strait which separates Victoria and Tasmania. The lighthouse was built in 1859 and is 21 metres tall.

The air felt so fresh and clear when I parked my car, gathered my camera bag and took off for a walk. There are two paths and I first took the one that lead away from the lighthouse but towards the cliffs. I wanted to be able to get some photos of how the lighthouse sits in its surrounding. There is a boardwalk that takes you out to the cliffs so you are looking back on to the lighthouse. I didn’t walk all the way out there because I did have some time restrictions so went to the first lookout and took some photos from there. I was really lucky to have a lot of blue sky. In Melbourne it was a very dull day but on the coastline it was beautiful and sunny with just a light breeze.

I retraced my steps to the carpark and kiosk where I bought a ticket to be able to go into the lighthouse compound. There’s not a lot to the compound; just the lighthouse, the keeper’s cottage and some other cottages which are let as self-catering accommodation. It is a great place to get away from everything and relax for a few days. The lighthouse keeper’s cottage also holds a museum. As well as the history of this lighthouse, it also details the history of lighthouses around the world. Although only a small museum, it’s really interesting.

DSC_0005

The below transcript is on the wall of the museum. I’ve read this before but still find it funny.

DSC_0017

DSC_0009

Leave a Reply

