Mirka’s at Tolarno

IMG_1009

Mirka’s is an iconic restaurant within an iconic hotel (Tolarno) on Fitzroy St, St Kilda. Mirka Mora was a famous St Kilda artist and her paintings adorn the walls of the restaurant. We were there to celebrate my friend’s birthday. Despite a minor hiccup with our booking, we were soon seated at a booth in the window.

My main meal (top photo) was Market fish cooked “Sardinian Style” with prawns, mussels, tomato and fregola. The fish was Barramundi. As soon as the waitress told me it was Barramundi, I had to order it. It was delicious.

IMG_1006
We weren’t sure what these were but we do know they were coated with polenta. They were really nice.

IMG_1007
Zucchini flowers stuffed with goat’s cheese has to be my favourite entrée. Whenever I see it on the menu I have to have it. This was served with heirloom tomatoes and olives.

IMG_1010
My friend’s meal of Beef cheeks ‘Brasata al Barolo’, polenta gnocchi and gremolata.

IMG_1011

Leave a Reply

