Roasted Capsicum Dip

022

Boxing Day in Australia is all about catching up with family and friends you weren’t able to see on Christmas Day. It’s also a huge day for sports: Cricket, Soccer and the Boxing Day Sales.

My parents and I will be spending the afternoon with my cousin and her family. I never like to arrive empty-handed so I have made this dip. It’s my favourite dip and the one I’m well-known for. In fact, when I take another dip people are often disappointed I haven’t brought this one. It’s so delicious.

Ingredients:

125g cream cheese, softened

3 large red capsicums

1/2 cup basil leaves, roughly chopped

2 garlic cloves

Method:

1. Cut the capsicums in half and put them face down on a tray lined with baking paper. Roast the capsicums on around 200 degrees celsius (400 deg fahrenheit) for 20-30 minutes or until the skins is blackened. Put aside to cool then peel the skins off. Roughly chop and put in a food processor.

018<

2. Add the cream cheese, basil and garlic to the food processor and process until all ingredients are blended.

021

3. Pour into a bowl, pop some extra basil leaves on top for decoration and put in the fridge for at least 4 hours (overnight is best) to set.

Leave a comment