St Patrick’s Cathedral Melbourne

DSC_0377

The foundation stone for this simply stunning cathedral was laid in 1870, just 35 years after Melbourne was settled. It is located in East Melbourne, an area that is not the most familiar to me. The best way for me to get to know an area is to walk around so I set out to discover more about that side of the city. St Pat’s was the first place on my list of buildings to photograph.

The interior is simply awe-inspiring. It really makes me wonder how they could build such churches given the lack of technology. Compared with today when we have the technology but don’t even try to replicate the architectural detail of these old buildings.

DSC_0388

DSC_0387

DSC_0357

DSC_0359

DSC_0375

DSC_0353

DSC_0371

One thought on “St Patrick’s Cathedral Melbourne

  1. Pingback: St Patrick’s Cathedral, Melbourne…. | seagirll

Leave a comment